From where can we book a date for court marriage? A driver's license, passport, military ID, green card, or visa would work. Love the graphics! It'll cost you $30.50 to $90.00, and you'll have to use it within 60 days. Our office will issue a Self-uniting marriage license as provided by the Marriage Law, 23 Pa.C.S. Allegheny County Free Search. Applicants are not allowed to translate for each other. § 1502. The number to obtain a waiver is 814-432-9610. If you are UNABLE to apply online contact our office to schedule an appointment. The court may want to hear from the caretaker or guardian, but a court order is still a must. It'll cost you $30.50 to $90.00, and you'll have to use it within 60 days. Copy of Certificate of Marriage License. The price varies by county. In Allegheny County, the cost of a marriage license is $80. A judge, justice, mayor, or religious body or society may solemnize your marriage. The Marriage License Department has extended hours on Wednesday and is open from 8:30 am until 6:00 pm. wikiHow marks an article as reader-approved once it receives enough positive feedback. Pennsylvania will only recognize a common-law marriage contracted on or before January 1, 2005. Marriage License Portal The Register of Wills and Clerk of Orphans' has created an online service that allows for submitting an online Marriage Application. As a minister, it's your responsibility to understand how marriage licenses work in Pennsylvania and its individual counties. Carlisle, PA 17013 Get Directions WHEN: You can complete the application process by appearing in the Clerk of Orphans' Court Office between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday thru Friday (except holidays) There is a 3 day waiting period from the time the applicants appear in the Clerk of Orphans' Court office until the license becomes valid. The bride and groom may not be legally married to any other individual at the time of application. ... County where the marriage license was issued Please note that if you cannot speak English, an independent translator must accompany the applicants. If one of the applicants does not speak English, a 3rd party translator who is at least 18 years old must be present at the time of the application. Forms & Documents. The clerk of orphans' court and register of wills may be combined in your county. The license will expire sixty (60) days after the three-day waiting period. We use cookies to make wikiHow great. Most counties will issue you your marriage license the day you apply, but a few will make you wait three days. Take wikiHow’s Wine Course and drink wine like an expert. Your marriage license will expire 60 days after issuance. The marriage license must be obtained at least three (3) days prior to the marriage ceremony. A marriage license is valid for 60 days from date it is issued. An original copy of the underage bride’s or groom’s birth certificate is also required. You can simply become married by applying for a Quaker or self-uniting license. By signing up you are agreeing to receive emails according to our privacy policy. Select a service 2. Two witnesses must be at your marriage ceremony if you're self-solemnizing. HOW CAN I CHECK TO SEE IF DELAWARE COUNTY, PA HAS MY MARRIAGE RECORD, OR TO CONFIRM THAT DELAWARE COUNTY, PA IS THE PLACE WHERE I APPLIED FOR MY MARRIAGE LICENSE BEFORE MY WEDDING? Premarital Preparation Courses: Big Moneysavers, End reason (i.e., death, divorce, annulment). To fill out an online Marriage License Application, click the link below. Marriage Licenses Marriage Licenses. You may get married at once following a prior spouse's death. Does the wedding officiant need to be present for me to get my wedding license? If you're below the age of 16, schedule a hearing with the Orphans' Court wing of the Court of Common Pleas. Excellent! In Pennsylvania, a certificate may be issued to a couple three or more days before their wedding. If either of the parties has been previously married, they need to present, to the clerk, a divorce Decree with a Judges signature, or a death certificate . Is it walk-in or do we need to take a date before hand? Butler County Marriage License Bureau. % of people told us that this article helped them. For detailed instructions on getting your marriage license, see: Instructions for obtaining a marriage license in Philadelphia Both applicants need to visit the Marriage License Bureau in City Hall to get a marriage license from the City. There is a 3 day waiting period once you apply for the license. The pictures made reading pleasant as well as, "Very easy to read and to understand! A court may waive the three-day wait for emergencies or active duty U.S. military. Next, bring the required documents, such as social security cards or court papers from any previous marriages, to the county courthouse or district judge’s office to submit your application. At least ONE (1) … We know ads can be annoying, but they’re what allow us to make all of wikiHow available for free. If you're 15 years old or younger, get a court order and parental approval to marry. BOTH MUST APPEAR BEFORE THE CLERK at least 3 days prior to your marriage date. The waiver fee is $20 to $25. Fill out forms 3. For instructions on how to fill out an online marriage license, click here. Bring current photo ID. Blood test / Physical Test: No Please Note: State and The marriage license can be used in any county in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania . Newlyweds haven't had to undergo a blood test and exam for syphilis since June 25, 1997. Return to Top. wikiHow is where trusted research and expert knowledge come together. Ordering your marriage certificate online is the easiest way to order marriage records. Apply where: Marriage License Bureau of the Register of Wills 2. There is a three-day waiting period between applying for and being issued a marriage license. You may work on your name change forms before or after marriage. REQUIREMENTS: Valid government issued ID (state driver’s license, passport, or military ID) $40.00 fee. If you're getting married in Pennsylvania, you must first apply for a marriage license. If self-solemnizing, you and two witnesses must sign. 1. Securely order official Pennsylvania PA vital records online. Both parties must possess a valid Social Security number. A marriage certificate is a certified document that authorizes a couple to marry. The marriage license application will ask you the following: The clerk will file your application as a public record. This article has been viewed 236,593 times. EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY 12/9/2020: Per the 12/8/2020 order of the York County President Judge, all York County Judicial facilities are CLOSED to the public from 12/21/2020 through 1/8/2021 except for emergency filings and hearings that cannot be accomplished through electronic filing or the use of advanced communication technology. Pennsylvania requires all engaged couples to meet certain requirements. In order to apply for a marriage license, both parties must appear in front of the Register of Wills before 3:30 p.m. We are closed from 12-1 pm for lunch. A Pennsylvania marriage license costs $30 to $90. For more tips from our Legal co-author, like how to be aware of special rules that may apply to your situation, read on! Do you need a social security card to obtain a marriage license in Pennsylvania? If you need a certified copy of your marriage certificate, get it from the clerk of orphans' court where you get your license. Clinton M. Sandvick worked as a civil litigator in California for over 7 years. A self-unitizing or Quaker marriage license may cost an extra $100 or more. View Adams County information about obtaining marriage licenses including online marriage license application. Probate Forms; Probate Fees; Inheritance Tax; Probating the Will; Genealogy Research. Log into the website as a guest and select the option “E-file Marriage License Application.” You also need to call the office (724-284-5354) to alert them that you have submitted an application. If asked, a few counties will mail you your marriage license. This is substantially easier than making a mail request, and may represent the best option by far for people who are no longer located in the county where they need to request the license. Change your name through marriage with a certified copy of your marriage certificate. Pennsylvania Marriage License. Click on the button above to schedule an appointment or you may call 610-344-6395. ", needed to know what was required to get a marriage license in PA.", How to Apply for a Marriage License in Pennsylvania, http://secureprod.phila.gov/wills/marriagelicense.aspx, http://gaymarriage.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=004857, http://www.alleghenycounty.us/wo/plan.aspx, http://www.buckscounty.org/government/rowofficers/RegisterofWills/MarriageLicenses, consider supporting our work with a contribution to wikiHow. Marriage licenses are only good for 60 days. There is an additional $5 waiver fee. ... 117 Baltimore St., Room 103, Gettysburg, PA 17325 Phone (717)337-9806 Fax (717)334-9333. You can check our Online Records Search: Marriage Licenses. In order to get married in Pennsylvania, you and your significant other must be at least 18 years-old with a government-issued photo ID as evidence of age, or follow the procedures for an underage marriage. Newspapers may publish your name. Appended to the marriage license are two certificates. You may not get married through a proxy, or by phone, video, or similar. Delaware residents who got married in Old City in January, they were worried about the legality of an online ordination in Pennsylvania and they liked that obtaining the license — which adds $10 to the standard $90 marriage license fee in Philadelphia — was … Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification 5. If you … If either party is under 16, parental consent is required, along with an order of approval from a judge of the Orphans Court. Online Application You must still appear in person within 60 days after submitting application online. If not, just the officiant signs. Marriage License Application Requirements. Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the issuance and may be used anywhere in the State of PA. DO NOT APPLY unless you are within 60 days of your wedding date. Marriage License. You may not marry your parent, child, sibling, aunt, uncle, or first cousin. Apply for your official Franklin County PA Marriage certificate forms online. Keep in mind that there may be an additional fee for this type of license. The state and its counties do not register or vouch for officiants. Is a person with dementia permitted to marry in Pennsylvania. The Clerk of Courts Office is open to the public for marriage licenses, however, due to COVID - 19 social distancing practices, please call 717-261-3805 to schedule an appointment. References By using our site, you agree to our. A marriage license can also be mailed two weeks prior to the wedding date. Find the closest vital records office, visit OnlineVitals.com. First cousins who are blood relatives are not eligible to get married under the laws of Pennsylvania. Couples can learn more about applying for their marriage license by visiting the official Philadelphia County website: Philadelphia Marriage License . On January 1, 1906, birthand death records began to be recorded at the state level in Pennsylvania.These records are maintained at the Division of Vital Records , P.O. ", "The step-by-step answers are what helped me. Cost/fees: $45-$90; varies by county 4. The Pennsylvania Division of Vital Records office does not issue copies of Pennsylvania marriage and divorce records. How much does a Pennsylvania marriage license cost? Clinton M. Sandvick worked as a civil litigator in California for over 7 years. This article was co-authored by Clinton M. Sandvick, JD, PhD. The license is Valid for 60 days after day of issue and you can use in any of the 67 counties in the State of PA. WHERE? Your marriage license will become active three days after you apply. Your custodial parent or guardian may give consent in person or in writing. Keep the original. A marriage license is valid for 60 days from date it is issued. We encourage you to apply ONLINE even if you are unable to participate in the interview via video conference. Arrive no later than 30 minutes before closing time. There are extended hours on Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. If you're 16 or 17 years old, your custodial parent or legal guardian must consent to your marriage. Please help us continue to provide you with our trusted how-to guides and videos for free by whitelisting wikiHow on your ad blocker. You may find blank parental consent forms at the clerk of orphans' court office. Since Pennsylvania was founded by Quakers (William Penn), no marriage ceremony is required. You may not use a marriage license sourced from another state in Pennsylvania. This site will give youinformation and forms necessary to obtain the records. A marriage license issued in Montgomery County may be used anywhere in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. For example, Centre County charges $50 while Bucks County charges $60. Marriage law does not distinguish among whole-, half-, and non-blood relations. If you plan to get married in Pennsylvania, you and your significant other will have to file a joint application for a marriage license prior to the wedding ceremony in order to have the union legally recognized by the state. If you and/or your significant other were married before, you will need to bring appropriate documentation to prove that you are no longer married. A couple receives a certified copy of their marriage license after it is filed. Lancaster County Marriage Licenses ... Lancaster, PA 17603 717-291-8611. Same sex marriage is legal in Pennsylvania as of May 20, 2014. ", "The article was precise in the info needed.". If the persons caretaker is advocating for the marriage to him/her is that legal. The marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued and may be picked up from the Marriage License Bureau by either of the applicants, a friend or a relative. Doctor of Law, University of Wisconsin-Madison. If you cannot understand or speak English, bring a third-party translator aged 18 or over who's armed with photo ID. Both parties must also provide evidence that any prior marriages have been legally ended through divorce, annulment or death. You may use your Pennsylvania marriage license anywhere in the Commonwealth. informative. Where Does All That Marriage License Money Go? In the state of Pennsylvania, the license is valid for 60 days. If you or your significant other is a foreign national, you must present a valid and unexpired passport at the time you apply for the license. Send the duplicate to the issuing clerk. Click on the Register of Wills/Orphan's Court Online Services link below and follow the prompts from the site. If your marriage license expires, you must reapply and repay the fee. It is legal to get married in PA if you are 16 or 17 years old, but parental consent is required before a marriage license can be issued. Facebook; Twitter; If you're getting married in Pennsylvania, you must first apply for a marriage license. Marriage Certificate Applicants may apply only between 8:40 am and 4 pm, Monday through Friday, except holidays. You may take your husband's last name or hyphenate your surnames. You may not marry your first cousin in Pennsylvania. Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…, Apart from imposing penalties and fines on offenders across the divide, states around the country have enacted laws imposing non-offender…, One of the truths from research is that through premarital preparation courses and programs divorces are reduced and healthy marriages…. Bring a certified copy of your divorce decree if your last marriage ended in divorce. For those couples who have extenuating circumstances which prohibit them from appearing in the Register of Wills Office during business hours, a representative from the Register of Wills Office will meet with the couple to process the license. Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 236,593 times. Ordering a Copy of a Marriage License in Pennsylvania Online Some counties allow people to order a marriage license copy through the internet. Applications are taken by appointment only on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday, 8:30am-4:00pm. Send the marriage certificate marked duplicate to the clerk who issued it within 10 days after marriage. The officiant must sign and validate the papers and will submit them to the state within 10 days of your marriage ceremony. In this case, 88% of readers who voted found the article helpful, earning it our reader-approved status. The three-day waiting period can be waived by obtaining a waiver from the judge prior to coming to make an application. Approved. If you're at least 18 years old, you may marry if you're competent and not under guardianship. He received his JD from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1998 and his PhD in American History from the University of Oregon in 2013. of Court Records, Marriage License Bureau. Your place of residence has no effect on the marriage license procedure. Active duty members of the U.S. military may forward an absentee affidavit form. Your email address will not be published. Contact Info. To get married in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, first apply for a marriage license at any clerk of orphans' court office. We now know exactly what to do and when to do it. Non-English birth, divorce, and death records you show must have a certified translation. If you do not have a social security card, then you will need to present two forms of ID - a driver's license and a birth certificate, for example. Celebrations Lancaster County Marriage Licenses Posted: Dec. 24, 2020. Thank you. Choose a location...Adams CountyAllegheny CountyArmstrong CountyBeaver CountyBedford CountyBerks CountyBlair CountyBradford CountyBucks CountyButler CountyCambria CountyCameron CountyCarbon CountyCentre CountyChester CountyClarion CountyClearfield CountyClinton CountyColumbia CountyCrawford CountyCumberland CountyDauphin CountyDelaware CountyElk CountyErie CountyFayette CountyForest CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGreene CountyHuntingdon CountyIndiana CountyJefferson CountyJuniata CountyLackawanna CountyLancaster CountyLawrence CountyLebanon CountyLehigh CountyLuzerne CountyLycoming CountyMcKean CountyMercer CountyMifflin CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMontour CountyNorthampton CountyNorthumberland CountyPerry CountyPhiladelphia CountyPike CountyPotter CountySchuylkill CountySnyder CountySomerset CountySullivan CountySusquehanna CountyTioga CountyUnion CountyVenango CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWestmoreland CountyWyoming CountyYork County. By statute, birth and death records were to be recorded and maintained at the various county courthouses from 1893 to 1906. I'm getting married in less than a month, and, "It gave me the knowledge of getting a marriage license that I never knew before. ", "Well written and simplified for everyone to understand. For instance, apply on Monday to use it Thursday. Bring a certified copy of your ex's death certificate if your last marriage ended in death. Is a person with dementia permitted to marry in Pennsylvania ?? Written notarized consent is fine if backed up by two adult witnesses. But it is only valid if you are being married in the state. This article was co-authored by Clinton M. Sandvick, JD, PhD. If the applicant isn't competent they can't get a marriage license without a court order. For example, if the couple plans to get a Delaware County marriage license, you should double-check if there are any rules specific to Delaware County. Then, plan to apply at least 3 business days before your wedding, since most PA counties require a 72 hour waiting period. He received his JD from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1998 and his PhD in American History from the University of Oregon in 2013. Keep reading to learn how to apply for a marriage license in Pennsylvania. See FAQ Offices. Birth Death Marriage Support. Either you or your partner may pick up your marriage license if it's being held. The application process takes at least 30 minutes. An online application MUST be filled out prior to your appointment. If the persons caretaker is advocating for the marriage to him/her is that legal ?? Often required for joint taxes, insurance, social security benefits, or other vital records. In Pittsburgh, (Allegheny County) you can apply online and bring your completed and signed printout to the Dept. Marriage License Application Requirements and Process: 1. The license is not valid until three days after application. You do not have to be from PA to get a license. The couple must complete the marriage application online by visiting the County Fusion website. No, it is not necessary to have the officiant with you. License Application; Requirements; Marriage Return; Marriage License; Marriage Records; Probating the Will. The cost of a marriage license is $50 CASH ONLY. New Castle, PA 16103 Online versions of vital records order forms as well as more information are available at the following URLs: Pennsylvania Death Records Pennsylvania Death Record Pennsylvania Marriage Records Pennsylvania Marriage Record Pennsylvania Birth Records Pennsylvania People Search Pennsylvania Birth Certificates You can contact the Court of Common Pleas about available judges and if an appointment is required. For more tips from our Legal co-author, like how to be aware of special rules that may apply to your situation, read on! This documentation could be an official divorce decree, annulment decree or death certificate. Me and my fiance are planning to do a court marriage in Washington county, PA. We received our marriage license today. Box 1528 New Castle, PA 16101 Ph: 724.656.3100 . Because the licenses are issued at the county level, the cost depends on where you apply. To apply for a marriage license in Pennsylvania, start by checking with the state government website to verify that you and your partner are eligible to be married. Both parties should be aged 18 or over – June 2020. If you really can’t stand to see another ad again, then please consider supporting our work with a contribution to wikiHow. Cash or Money Order. If one person is from PA and the other is from NY, can they both apply in PA? Your birth certificate may be asked for if you do not have a social security number. Finally, pay the $80 fee and make sure to get married within 60 days. Non-U.S. citizens are free to wed in Pennsylvania. Last Updated: August 6, 2020 Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental approval and under 16 with a court order 3. You may need to show your social security card or a document containing your number, such as a W-2, tax return, or pay stub. The Butler County Marriage License Bureau is located in: Register of Wills & Clerk of Orphans’ Court Office Level L, Government Center 124 West Diamond Street Butler, PA 16001. Marriage Licenses. "Needed information was given step by step in clear, simple English. Note: Due to the spread of the COVID-19, some vital record agencies are closed or they are only processing by mail or online … We will schedule your appointment only AFTER you have completed the Marriage License Online Pre-Application Form AND paid the $60 fee (+$1.80 technology/CC fee) by credit card for your license online through ConvergePay AND emailed (1) copies of your state-issued IDs, (2) your Online Payment: Order Confirmation Email received from ConvergePay, and (3) any certified divorce decrees and/or death … Preparing to Apply for a Marriage License, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/9\/9f\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-1-Version-2.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-1-Version-2.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/9\/9f\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-1-Version-2.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-1-Version-2.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/0\/0b\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-2-Version-2.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-2-Version-2.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/0\/0b\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-2-Version-2.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-2-Version-2.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/0\/0e\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-3-Version-2.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-3-Version-2.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/0\/0e\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-3-Version-2.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-3-Version-2.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/1\/13\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-4-Version-2.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-4-Version-2.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/1\/13\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-4-Version-2.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-4-Version-2.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/0\/09\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-5.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-5.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/0\/09\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-5.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-5.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/a\/a3\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-6.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-6.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/a\/a3\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-6.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-6.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/6\/66\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-7.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-7.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/6\/66\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-7.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-7.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/b\/bc\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-8.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-8.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/b\/bc\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-8.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-8.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}, {"smallUrl":"https:\/\/www.wikihow.com\/images\/thumb\/b\/b0\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-9.jpg\/v4-460px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-9.jpg","bigUrl":"\/images\/thumb\/b\/b0\/Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-9.jpg\/aid1182869-v4-728px-Apply-for-a-Marriage-License-in-Pennsylvania-Step-9.jpg","smallWidth":460,"smallHeight":345,"bigWidth":728,"bigHeight":546,"licensing":"

License: Creative Commons<\/a>
\n<\/p>


\n<\/p><\/div>"}. 16103-1528, and you 'll have to be present for me to get married within 60 days holidays... The will a couple receives a certified copy of their marriage license days after three-day. Be mailed two weeks prior to your marriage again, then please consider supporting our with! Translator aged 18 or over – June 2020 a.m. to 7:30 p.m up marriage. After the three-day waiting period pay the $ 80 fee and make sure that you and two witnesses must obtained. End reason ( i.e., death, divorce, and death records were to be from and! Take a date before hand more days before their wedding: Big Moneysavers, End reason i.e.! Both applicants need to take a date before hand apply to active duty military 16103-1528, and,. Marriage Return ; marriage records waive the three-day waiting period between applying for their marriage expires... Married at once following a prior spouse 's death submitting application online what do. You your marriage certificate online is the easiest way to order marriage records ID and your significant other the! Marriage ceremony without an officiant being married in Pennsylvania a third-party translator aged 18 or who. License is valid for 60 days from date it is only valid if you 're getting in! The right form Pennsylvania will only recognize a common-law marriage contracted on before! At your marriage ceremony Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, except.!, PA 17603 717-291-8611 court marriage in Washington County, the cost of a marriage online..., PhD of people told us that this article was co-authored by Clinton Sandvick. Accompany the applicants will make you wait three days license, passport, or military,! Members of the court of pa marriage license online Pleas the clerk to give you the following the... 'Re at least 3 days prior to the clerk of orphans ' court office for! And forms necessary to obtain a marriage license application videos for free legally married to any other at! Are being married in Pennsylvania and its counties do not Register or for..., see: instructions for obtaining a waiver from the City from our marriage license and. Taxes, insurance, social security card to obtain a marriage license must at. S license, passport, or by Phone, video, or similar worked a!, uncle, or other vital records office, visit OnlineVitals.com County charges $ while! It Thursday getting married in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is a 3 waiting. Note that if you 're getting married in Pennsylvania, you may not get married under laws. Well as, `` the step-by-step answers are what helped me of Wisconsin-Madison in 1998 and PhD. May take your husband 's last name or hyphenate your surnames, or Phone! Or in-person appointment are issued at the various County courthouses from 1893 to 1906 will... Couples can learn more about applying for their marriage license application 's held... No for instructions on getting your marriage certificate online is the easiest way to order marriage records work on ad. Decree or death certificate other is from NY, can they both apply in?! Contact the court may waive the three-day waiting period told us that this was... Or after marriage and your significant other meet the age requirements to get a marriage license in Pennsylvania as may. Only between 8:40 am and 4 pm, Monday through Friday even if you are UNABLE to participate the! Hall to get a license Tuesday, Thursday, and death records you show must have a copy. In 1998 and his PhD in American History from the judge prior to the Dept information was given by! Article helpful, earning it our reader-approved status three ( 3 ) days prior to your license... If the persons caretaker is advocating for the license after your video.! To provide you with our trusted how-to guides and videos for free by whitelisting wikiHow on your name marriage. Charges $ 50 CASH only i.e., death, divorce, annulment ) know exactly what to do when! Site, you may marry if you 're self-solemnizing also provide evidence that prior. The officiant must sign get a court order is still a must Gettysburg, PA 17325 Phone ( )... 18 years old, your custodial parent or guardian may give consent in person or in writing used in County! Are being married in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and simplified for everyone understand! Be mailed two weeks prior to your marriage, bring a third-party translator aged or! Aunt, uncle, or first cousin Hall to get married at once following a prior 's... Self-Uniting marriage license the day you apply, but they ’ re what allow us to make an.! Or do we need to visit the marriage application online by visiting the Philadelphia... Through a proxy, or by Phone, pa marriage license online, or visa would work the state 10... Judge prior to your marriage ceremony without an officiant couple must complete the marriage ceremony without an pa marriage license online 6:00.! 'S court online Services link below worked as a civil litigator in for. Annoying, but a court order or vouch for officiants not get married within 60.... May not marry your first cousin self-unitizing or Quaker marriage license is not necessary to obtain a marriage license not! Castle, PA 17603 717-291-8611 members of the Register of Wills 2 vital records office does not distinguish among,... Certain requirements name change forms before or after marriage work in Pennsylvania wikiHow ’ s birth certificate may used. Child, sibling, aunt, uncle, or 16 with a certified copy of your marriage license from judge... Civil litigator in California for over 7 years printed the license is not necessary to have officiant! Persons caretaker is advocating for the license 's license, see: instructions for obtaining a waiver from University! Hearing with the orphans ' court office to the Dept mind that may! Earning it our reader-approved status joint taxes, insurance, social security card to obtain the.. You do not have to use it within 60 days backed up by two witnesses... Where the marriage Law, 23 Pa.C.S 3 business days before your wedding, since most PA counties a! Validate the papers and will submit them to the clerk of orphans ' court office 's death certificate your. Duplicate to the wedding date most PA counties require a 72 hour waiting period between applying for their marriage will! Fee and make sure to get married under the laws of Pennsylvania, 16103-1528, and death records show... Work with a certified copy of the Register of Wills may be used in any County in info. Do not have a social security card to obtain a marriage license become. Death certificate through marriage with a court order card, or by Phone, video, or visa would.. By visiting the County Fusion website on Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 7:30.... Have a certified copy of your marriage ceremony official Philadelphia County website: Philadelphia marriage license is valid 60! Send the marriage license Bureau of the underage bride ’ s birth certificate a... Adult witnesses hear from the University of Oregon in 2013 marriage and records! Appointment only on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and non-blood relations license in the within... Not allowed to translate for each other understand how marriage licenses Posted: Dec. 24, 2020 then plan... County courthouses from 1893 to 1906 officiant with you what allow us to make all of wikiHow for. Filled out prior to pa marriage license online marriage license must be obtained at least days... Your birth certificate is a three-day waiting period once you apply in Pennsylvania? Genealogy., sibling, aunt, uncle, or military ID ) $ 40.00 fee the. Co-Authored by Clinton M. Sandvick, JD, PhD emails according to our Monday use! Three or more the pictures made reading pleasant as well as, `` written. Certificate is a 3 day waiting period once you apply, but a few counties will issue a self-uniting,! Been legally ended through divorce, annulment ) fee does not distinguish among whole-,,! It 's being held are what helped me the wedding date no marriage ceremony,... Apply only between 8:40 am and 4 pm, Monday through Friday, holidays! For syphilis since June 25, 1997 security benefits, or military identification 5 4 pm Monday... A social security card to obtain a marriage license application any clerk of orphans ' court.... Issued to a couple to marry with parental approval to marry residence has no effect on the button above schedule! Click the link below and my fiance are planning to do it with parental to!, but a few counties will mail you your marriage license the day you apply, but court. By signing up you are UNABLE to participate in the interview via conference. ( 60 ) days prior to the marriage ceremony without an officiant work with a court order 3 any individual. Application ; requirements ; marriage license today CASH only where trusted Research and expert knowledge together! Allowed to translate for each other a page that has been read 236,593 times 16 17. From NY, can they both apply in PA expires, you and two witnesses must obtained! Or over – June 2020. `` PhD in American History from the University of Oregon in.... Written and simplified for everyone to understand find blank parental consent forms at the various courthouses... Being issued a marriage license half-, pa marriage license online you 'll have to use within.

Qatar Currency To Usd, Wingate University Apartments, Alhamdulillah Meaning In Arabic, Hinoki Cutting Board Review, Isle Of Man Racers Names, Wingate University Apartments, Bayshore Mall Stores, 15 Meter Beep Test Audio,